Dark Souls Remastered DLC

Does Dark Souls: Remastered Come With DLC?

Dark Souls: Remastered is a repackaged edition of the original Dark Souls that was released in 2018 for PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch, and comes with improved visuals, a few quality-of-life changes, and an expanded multiplayer service. Dark Souls: Remastered comes with all DLC (The Artorias Of The Abyss DLC, which was released in 2012). But how do you access the DLC? Find out right here.

How To Access Dark Souls: Remastered’s DLC

You’ll need to start the Dark Souls DLC before completing the game, as doing so will immediately push you into New Game +. Unlike with most other games, however, accessing the Artorias Of The Abyss DLC can be somewhat complicated. Before you can start anything, you’re going to need to head to Darkroot Basin and defeat the Hydra monster. Be careful when doing so, as you can easily fall into the water, and either bait its head slams or use ranged attacks to defeat the enemy.

Once defeated, head back to Darkroot Basin (You must either warp or quit and reload the game) and, hugging the left-hand cliffside, follow the lake until you spot a golden crystal golem. Defeat it, and an NPC known as Dusk Of Oolacile will appear in its place. Speak with Dusk, and then she will leave.

After that, fast-travel to the first bonfire at Duke’s Archives and take the elevator up. When you emerge into a new room, you’ll be at the entrance to the Duke’s Archives. In the room will be several crystal enemies and a large crystal golem. Defeat the smaller enemies and then defeat the golem, who will drop the Broken Pendant (Only available after freeing Dusk Of Oolacile).

With the Broken Pendant, head back to Darkroot Basin where you fought the golden golem, and in its place will be a portal. Examine it to trigger a cutscene and warp you to the first location of the Artorias Of The Abyss DLC; Sanctuary Garden.

What Does The DLC Include?

The DLC for Dark Souls includes an assortment of new items, including rings, as well as new armour and over ten new weapons, including catalysts. There are also several new powerful dark magic-based spells and four new NPCs that can be found, some of which act as merchants and sell a majority of the new items available with the DLC pack.

How Long Is The Dark Souls DLC?

The Dark Souls DLC is much more linear than the main game, and it is based on five main areas that you’ll explore, with three mandatory bosses and one optional boss available. The areas and their bosses include:

  • Sanctuary Garden: Sanctuary Guardian boss
  • Oolacile Sanctuary
  • Royal Woods: Knight Artorias and Black Dragon Kalameet bosses
  • Oolacile Township
  • Chasm Of The Abyss: Manus, Father Of The Abyss boss

The DLC isn’t particularly long and should only take you a few hours to clear, although you’ll likely hit walls when facing Artorias, Kalameet, and Manus, which are collectively some of the hardest boss fights in the original Dark Souls.

If you’re giving the DLC a go, good luck, and while you’re here, why not check out our Dark Souls: Remastered boss order guide for more help? Meanwhile, find out whether we think Dark Souls Remastered is worth it right here.

Similar Posts